CEBRA Governance Structure

CEBRA Governance Structure

CEBRA Advisory Board

The Advisory Board provides advice on the operations of the Centre to the Managing Director on the research and policy framework. Also the Advisory Board oversees the application of relevant professional standards, the progress and performance of research and outcomes, the dissemination of knowledge and the promotion of the Centre.  The Advisory Board is representative of broad-ranging interests and includes:

Committee Members

  • Dr Colin Grant, Chair
  • Dr Marion Healy (DAWR - Plant Division)
  • Mr Peter Gooday (DAWR – ABARES)
  • Prof. Pauline Ladiges (UoM - BioSciences)
  • Prof. Colin Wilks (UoM - Veterinary Science)
  • Prof Helen Sullivan (ANU)
  • Dr Roger Paskin (PIRSA)
  • Christine Reed (MPI)
  • Prof Peter Taylor (UoM)
  • Prof Tom Kompas (UoM, ex offico)
  • Assoc. Prof. Andrew Robinson (UoM, ex offico)

Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee will oversee the scientific quality of Centre outputs and will manage the review process for completed documents, thereby ensuring the scientific excellence of project outcomes. It will comprise the following individuals:

  • Prof. Colin Wilks, Veterinary Science, The University of Melbourne: epidemiology, biosecurity risk analysis.
  • Emeritus Professor Colin Thompson, FAA, Mathematics and Statistics, University of Melbourne: mathematical statistics, physics, environmental risk analysis, financial risk analysis.

The Centre's Scientific Advisory Committee members have considerable experience in undertaking and managing consultancies, scientific reviews and conventional individual-based and team-based scientific research, and will be able to offer independent advice on the relevance and practicality of research proposals as well as the scientific quality of research outputs.

Research Partners Panel

The Research Partners in Australia and New Zealand provide technical support and extensive professional networks to help identify appropriate researchers who are excited to see the products of their work used in an applied context.  Together with the Scientific Review, they will advise on strategies to develop concepts and issues that are likely to generate the greatest gains in biosecurity risk analysis methods and that best serve the interests of the Australian community.  The following individuals and groups have agreed to cooperate with the Centre, forming the core of the Research Partners Panel. All are leaders in their respective fields, with highly respected research track records and extensive professional networks.

Veterinary Science and Epidemiology

Biosecurity Risk Analysis, Plant Science

Corporate Risk Management

Biosecurity, Statistics, Mathematics, Operations Research

Management Executive

  • Dr Andrew Robinson (Director, Centre of Excellence for Biosecurity Risk Analysis)
  • Ms Cassie Watts (Business Manager, Centre of Excellence for Biosecurity Risk Analysis)